United We Dream Press Releases 12 Comments

June 29, 2011
Contact: Jose Luis Marantes (202) 556-0757 joseluis@unitedwedream.org
Undocumented Youth Hold DREAM Graduation Ceremony
Introduce America to the “Deportation Class of 2011” and
Call on President Obama to “END our PAIN”

WASHINGTON, DC – On Wednesday, June 29th, nearly 200 undocumented youth will gather in the Russell Senate Office Building to thank Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL) and the Congressional champions of the DREAM Act and will present several courageous undocumented young people who are currently in deportation proceedings and whose pleas for relief from the Obama Administration have either been met with silence or shameful and aggressive opposition.
While the Obama Administration refuses direct agents to stop arresting, jailing and deporting DREAM eligible youth, the Obama reelection campaign has used the suffering of undocumented youth to raise campaign contributions. Undocumented youth will call on Latino and immigrant communities to join their effort to get President Obama to “End Our Pain.”

Nearly 200 Undocumented Youth Wearing Caps and Gowns will present the Deportation Class of 2011
June 29th, 2011 (10:30 AM – 12:00PM)
Russell Senate Office Building, Kennedy Caucus Room
Masters of Ceremonies: Undocumented Youth Myrna Orozco (Kansas) & Maricela Aguilar (Wisconsin)
Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL), lead Senate sponsor of the DREAM Act
Jose Antonio Vargas, undocumented young Pulitzer Prize winner and author of “My Life as an Undocumented Immigrant,” published in the New York Times.
Mandeep Chahal (California), and additional DREAM Act eligible youth in deportation proceedings will share their stories and present themselves

United We Dream Network is a national network of immigrant youth that organize and advocate for access to college and legal status for ALL. We have members in over 25 states, you can learn more at www.unitedwedream.org


Comments 12

  1. Pingback: nick

  2. Pingback: randall

  3. Pingback: Kirk

  4. Pingback: donald

  5. Pingback: trevor

  6. Pingback: daniel

  7. Pingback: ricardo

  8. Pingback: Jerry

  9. Pingback: Clayton

  10. Pingback: dennis

  11. Pingback: Johnny

  12. Pingback: Alberto

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *