***PRESS CALL*** TOMORROW, January 5th, 1:00 PM EST DIAL: 719-325-2295; PASSCODE: “9639097”

United We Dream Press Releases

Immigrant Advocates to Announce Details of January 14th National Day of Action in DC and Nearly 50 Locations

Contact: Nicky Vogt at 202-331-2389; vogt@newpartners.com
OR Adam Luna at 202-486-4030; adam@unitedwedream.org
OR Carlos Vogel at 202-239-2133; cvogel@communitychange.org
OR María Ponce at 202-394-2139; maria.ponce@seiu.org
OR Susana Flores at 915-525-2434; susana@4rceinitiatives.com
OR Maria Fernanda Durand at 240-706-2624; fdurand@wearecasa.org  


Washington, DC –
TOMORROW, January 5 at 1:00 PM EST, immigrants and immigrant advocates from United We Dream, Center for Community Change, SEIU, CASA, and Voces de la Frontera will gather on a press call to release the details of the upcoming immigrant day of action on January 14, just one week before Donald Trump’s inauguration.

Throughout the day of action, immigrants, families and allies will rally, march, and hold vigils and mass community gatherings in DC and nearly 50 locations nationwide to build momentum to prevent deportations, preserve the DACA program and create sanctuaries of safety and deportation defense networks in cities, schools, churches and states. They will stand united against the Trump administration’s plans for deportations, criminalization and hatred.

Events are currently planned in: Birmingham, AL; Phoenix, AZ; Los Angeles, CA; Washington, D.C.; Miami, FL; Chicago, IL; Wichita, KS; Charlotte, NC; Albuquerque, NM; Salem, OR; Philadelphia, PA; Dallas, TX; Houston, TX; San Antonio, TX; Vancouver, WA; Yakima, WA; and Milwaukee, WI. A full list of events is available here.

Who:   Cristina Jimenez, Executive Director & Co-Founder, United We Dream, Moderator
Kica Matos, Director of Immigrant Rights and Racial Justice, Center for Community Change
Rocio Sáenz, International Executive Vice President, SEIU
Christine Neumann-Ortiz, Executive Director of Voces de la Frontera, WI
Gabriela Hernandez, DACA-mented Organizer from Albuquerque, NM
Maria Fernanda Duran, Communications Manager, CASA

What: Press call to announce details of the nationwide mass mobilization in support of  immigrants and refugees

When: TOMORROW, January 5th at 1:00 PM EST

Where: DIAL: 719-325-2295; PASSCODE: “9639097”